ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Exclusive Review: Overstrides

Test System

The test system is as follows, with a focus on AMD primarily for the real-world applicability of this review.

CPU
Intel QX9770 (3.2 GHz)

Motherboard
EVGA 790i SLI Motherboard

Memory
4GB (2×2GB) Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18)

OS

Windows Vista X64 Ultimate

Power Supply

EVGA PSU 850W

The test system is Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit with all available Microsoft updates. Latest drivers (ATI Catalyst 8.7 for Radeon) used on all cards.


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Monday, August 18th, 2008
7:30 PM

38 Comments

38 Comments so far

  1. antaraa August 18th, 2008 7:37 PM

    Oh man. no crossfire, but this review is AMAZING.

  2. Apollodorus August 18th, 2008 8:06 PM

    mmm spicey. I’ll buy it :D

  3. Apollodorus August 18th, 2008 8:09 PM

    Gosh $600 bucks! I’ll TRY to buy it. A+ review as always. I was looking at the Bioshock numbers in the review compared to the old one, way different for same stuff…but realized what it was :-D

  4. Apollodorus August 18th, 2008 8:15 PM

    Amazing review. Hopefully Xrossfire soon ; (

  5. Apollodorus August 18th, 2008 8:16 PM

    Need Crossfire plz!

  6. Bdog August 18th, 2008 8:27 PM

    Gr8 concise review. I like the $ out of $ thing…but I’m sure that isn’t a review score…because you guys don’t do them right? At least that’s what Penny Arcade said.. :D

    Usman Ihtsham replied on August 18, 2008 8:31 PM:

    Thank you. And yes, you’re right: this is not a review structure as you will find, but something special we did for this one to show the value it’s worth. You can expect it on many more reviews (most of them), but this is in no way a review score.

  7. Bdog August 18th, 2008 8:28 PM

    As usual…these are literally the best reviews.

  8. Bdog August 18th, 2008 8:28 PM

    Loved it, thanks

  9. PCEnthusiast August 18th, 2008 8:32 PM

    As always, Kudos. I’m very taken to this review. Currently have a 9800GTX, but looks like daddy is upgrading!

  10. PCEnthusiast August 18th, 2008 8:32 PM

    Once again, really awesome review. And I learned a bit more about compositors! ;) PC Gamer had you guys on mention last month. Cool stuff

  11. bbflynn August 18th, 2008 8:33 PM

    Oh dude you saw them on PC Gamer too right? It was just a quick mention, but it said you guys helped out at SIGGRAPH and also did a lot of stuff with PC Gamer for the benching of the Lian Li case I think it was :-D. Either way…you guys ROCK.

    ceebz replied on August 18, 2008 8:35 PM:

    You both are slow. They’re also on the back of the 4870 X2 Box under awards logo! lol.

  12. bbflynn August 18th, 2008 8:34 PM

    Review was simply amazing.

  13. bbflynn August 18th, 2008 8:34 PM

    Thanks again <3

  14. bbflynn August 18th, 2008 8:34 PM

    :-D So happy about this review, but I’m waiting on Crossfire as well.

  15. ceebz August 18th, 2008 8:34 PM

    Very glad to see this

  16. ceebz August 18th, 2008 8:35 PM

    More glad to know I can feel SAFE buying it now that WhatIfGaming reviewed it.

  17. ceebz August 18th, 2008 8:36 PM

    They’re also on the back of the NVIDIA 9800GX2 box for the award logo. That’s how I mainly found this site like …2 yrs ago

  18. FreedomPhantom August 18th, 2008 8:37 PM

    Not much more to say really. Great review, does what it needs to without making it so over the top. Thank you for being the ONLY sane fucki-g site out there to write honestly without the mass BS.

  19. FreedomPhantom August 18th, 2008 8:37 PM

    When can we expect the Ratchet and Clank : QFB review? Sorry bit off topic. Usman!? David?!!?

  20. FreedomPhantom August 18th, 2008 8:37 PM

    :-D

  21. FreedomPhantom August 18th, 2008 8:38 PM

    Complete cool = this review

  22. PCTechNerd August 18th, 2008 8:44 PM

    Talk about big money on this, but clearly it’s worth the price. Did some extensive reading of everything. Seems this is my next card…but I recently have 2 4870 CF’s from your last review. I’m glad you compared it to the same company (some always compare–which is horse shit). Now I know it’s beneficial to upgrade from 2 x 4870! Thanks WhatIfGaming. Love you guys!

  23. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 8:54 PM

    Glad to see Intel CPU being used…but um, moreover glad to see ALL those games having been benchmarked. You guys 3x this review!

  24. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 8:54 PM

    :-D thanks

  25. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 8:57 PM

    Interesting Db specs :-|

  26. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 8:57 PM

    :-D hahah

  27. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 8:57 PM

    Thanks WhatIfGaming.

  28. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 9:01 PM

    CF 4870′s overall did closer to this

  29. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 9:03 PM

    What drivers are these again ?

    Usman Ihtsham replied on August 18, 2008 9:04 PM:

    Latest: 8.7 latest, we did tests with 8.8 beta…but they didn’t match up consistently.

    Usman Ihtsham replied on August 18, 2008 9:11 PM:

    Added it to the review as well. Thanks for that. Small slip.

  30. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 9:12 PM

    Cool thanks again. At least the X2 is better than 2 4870′s in Crossfire. Glad to see that. I was skeptical at first that they were significantly better until you mentioned marginally. Then I realized these weren’t beta. :)

  31. IntelLover August 18th, 2008 9:14 PM

    Stupendous review again :-D

  32. JoshDargie August 18th, 2008 9:14 PM

    As always, thank you WiG

  33. JoshDargie August 18th, 2008 9:15 PM

    Detailed, short, not too long, sweet, and just overall a solid review. :)

  34. David Jeffers August 21st, 2008 3:15 AM

    thanks for the review bro