ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review: Show Me The Ruby

ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review Overview

AMD is proudly bringing PC gamers 1.0 TeraFLOP Graphics Performance, with a single GPU that consumes only 110W of power in the HD 4850. Going head to head with the 8800GTX, 8800GTS & GT, and 9600GT series of cards. Developing a new TeraScale graphics engine, AMD is excited to deliver an impassive experience for gaming. With enhanced anti-aliasing 24X (AA) and AF, gamers will find a new realism more improved than previous versions of cards that all had AA and AF flickering sporadic problems. You’ve read our Cinema 2.0 coverage and are waiting for our detailed article on the latest 4800 series line, including ATI Radeon HD 4870 details. Now, we want to reveal one part with the ATI Radeon HD 4850 that should provide a glimpse into the new series line. With power that supports DX 10.1 fully unlike the GTX 200’s, the ATI Radeon HD 4850 brings efficiency together against the competition through features such as ATI Powerplay and ATI Avivo HD to give gamers a more enhanced experience all around.

ATI Radeon HD 4850

Let’s take a look at the key features:

  • 512MB GDDR3 Memory
  • Core Clock: 625MHz

  • Single Slot

  • 2.0 Gbps
  • 110W Power Requirement
  • 256-bit memory interface
  • DirectX 10.1 Support
  • 24x custom filter AA and high performance AF
  • ATI CrossFireX multi-GPU support for scalable performance
  • PCI-E 2.0 support
  • ATI Avivio HD video and display technology for Blu-ray and 7.1 surround sound support with On-Chip HDCPd
  • ATI Powerplay

Let’s go on to the test system.

I'm all about one thing: reviews that are easy to understand and make sense of.

35 Comments

  1. Epic Review. Thx.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19th, 2008 3:20 AM:

    Agree here

  2. Oh shnaps. Better AA and AF. Final Fking ly

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:52 AM:

    I know. I’ve been wanting this for a long time. Had flickering problems.

  3. Extremely great review as usual. Silver sounds about right

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:54 AM:

    Yeah. I saw silver and was happy it wasn’t gold. Gold is really for the really really good ones.

  4. Wow, nice

  5. Great exclusive review. Love it

  6. Woah a teraFLOP. That’s insane!

    bbflynn replied on June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM:

    I know right? I remember it took like a whole room of freaking computers to do that just in the 90’s.

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:25 AM:

    Teraflop is an immense step up. NVIDIA is still way below that. And only at 110W. NICE

  7. Nice stuff

  8. AMD isn’t joking around. Cinema 2.0 was a disappointment, but this is right on the money.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Yeah. I’ll count you on that. They really did push through this time. Applause is needed

  9. Full DX 10.1 support. Count me in. Going to wait for the 4870 review, might buy that

  10. Seriously impressed. Silver is really damn good.

  11. Very impressed here. Might buy this. Waiting on more stuff.

  12. Wow wow wow wow. Nice. Read an unofficial review elsewhere, but this one I like.

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:55 AM:

    Same here. Was some dude who got it from a site. But it’s out in the best buy I’m at. Going to buy one soon =D

  13. This is definitely better than the 65nm GTX 200 architecture. NVIDIA played it safe this time. Sad

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    This is 55nm according to the review. Smaller is more scalable. Way way better

  14. BF works at best buy and sneaked one of these out. We currently have it 😉 Does what it says

  15. NVIDIA lost. End story

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Seriously

  16. And NVIDIA goes down hard Wham

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:26 AM:

    Yeah definitely

  17. NVIDIA = owned. Definitely. GDDR5>GDDR3

  18. Awesome review. Thanks 4 this

  19. Cool stuff. Got this from Gizmodo AU.

  20. I like what I see. Better than my friends 8800GTX? He can play crysis high on 1024x. This is all I need.

  21. As a serious enthusiast like the rest of you, can’t disagree. NVIDIA sucks this time

  22. Read right now.

    I really knew they would come through to this card.

    Thanks you,

    Vash

  23. K.O. NVIDIA

  24. Yeah. These specs just make me want 4870. Going to buy this though. $199 can’t be beat.

  25. Going to buy this for my MMO experience. Thanks WhatIf

Comments are now closed for this post.

Lost Password

Sign Up