ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review: Show Me The Ruby

Test System

CPU
AMD Phenom X4 9850 (Running @ 2.6GHz)
Motherboard
MSI K9A2 Platinum (AMD 790FX)
Memory
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18)

OS

Windows Vista x32


Pages: 1 2 3 4



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Thursday, June 19th, 2008
3:06 AM

35 Comments

35 Comments so far

  1. adurioubmidam June 19th, 2008 3:09 AM

    Epic Review. Thx.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19, 2008 3:20 AM:

    Agree here

  2. antaraa June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Oh shnaps. Better AA and AF. Final Fking ly

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:52 AM:

    I know. I’ve been wanting this for a long time. Had flickering problems.

  3. IBKING91 June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Extremely great review as usual. Silver sounds about right

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:54 AM:

    Yeah. I saw silver and was happy it wasn’t gold. Gold is really for the really really good ones.

  4. ceebz June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Wow, nice

  5. Bdog June 19th, 2008 3:11 AM

    Great exclusive review. Love it

  6. JoshDargie June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM

    Woah a teraFLOP. That’s insane!

    bbflynn replied on June 19, 2008 3:12 AM:

    I know right? I remember it took like a whole room of freaking computers to do that just in the 90′s.

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:25 AM:

    Teraflop is an immense step up. NVIDIA is still way below that. And only at 110W. NICE

  7. bbflynn June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM

    Nice stuff

  8. venkatezh June 19th, 2008 3:13 AM

    AMD isn’t joking around. Cinema 2.0 was a disappointment, but this is right on the money.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Yeah. I’ll count you on that. They really did push through this time. Applause is needed

  9. ZepherX June 19th, 2008 3:13 AM

    Full DX 10.1 support. Count me in. Going to wait for the 4870 review, might buy that

  10. atl_rg June 19th, 2008 3:18 AM

    Seriously impressed. Silver is really damn good.

  11. Lajk192 June 19th, 2008 3:18 AM

    Very impressed here. Might buy this. Waiting on more stuff.

  12. VenomXv June 19th, 2008 3:19 AM

    Wow wow wow wow. Nice. Read an unofficial review elsewhere, but this one I like.

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:55 AM:

    Same here. Was some dude who got it from a site. But it’s out in the best buy I’m at. Going to buy one soon =D

  13. PCTechNerd June 19th, 2008 3:19 AM

    This is definitely better than the 65nm GTX 200 architecture. NVIDIA played it safe this time. Sad

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    This is 55nm according to the review. Smaller is more scalable. Way way better

  14. genieinthebottle June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    BF works at best buy and sneaked one of these out. We currently have it ;) Does what it says

  15. IntelLover June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    NVIDIA lost. End story

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Seriously

  16. Memoryclocker June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    And NVIDIA goes down hard Wham

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:26 AM:

    Yeah definitely

  17. coop81 June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    NVIDIA = owned. Definitely. GDDR5>GDDR3

  18. wiseguy272 June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    Awesome review. Thanks 4 this

  19. Conjuredevil June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    Cool stuff. Got this from Gizmodo AU.

  20. Pancakes June 19th, 2008 3:23 AM

    I like what I see. Better than my friends 8800GTX? He can play crysis high on 1024x. This is all I need.

  21. PCEnthusiast June 19th, 2008 3:23 AM

    As a serious enthusiast like the rest of you, can’t disagree. NVIDIA sucks this time

  22. Vash63 June 19th, 2008 3:24 AM

    Read right now.

    I really knew they would come through to this card.

    Thanks you,

    Vash

  23. Apollodorus June 19th, 2008 3:24 AM

    K.O. NVIDIA

  24. RadianceGraphics June 19th, 2008 3:25 AM

    Yeah. These specs just make me want 4870. Going to buy this though. $199 can’t be beat.

  25. Monolith2001 June 19th, 2008 3:26 AM

    Going to buy this for my MMO experience. Thanks WhatIf