ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review: Show Me The Ruby

Synthetic Benchmarks and Real World Benchmarks

ATI HD 4850 Review Benchmarks

3D MarkVantage (latest) reveals a great deal. The ATI Radeon HD 4850 is going to be the highest performing single slot product to set foot in stores. Not only does the ATI Radeon HD 4850 pass the 8800GT like it was just standing there, but it also out performs the 8800GT’s dual-slot friend, the 8800GTS 512MB, coming close to the GTX benchmark on separate tests we ran.

Next up are the primary benchmarks and everything we are scratching about: games. The table below reveals our primary test subjects for both the ATI Radeon HD 4850, 8800GTS, and GT head-to-head.

Games

Resolutions

AA

AF

Call of Duty 4

2560×1600

4x

8x

Crysis

1600×1200

4x

8x

Half-Life 2: EP2

2560×1600

4x

8x

ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review

With all the games on high settings, the 4850 reaffirmed the fact that it is currently titled the fastest single slot card on the market now, for lesser power usage, full DX 10.1 support, many other features, and moreover a cheaper price that the consumers will eye at. Throughout the test comparisons, we noticed that AA and AF are very much improved when compared to the Nvidia line of cards, and also the former 3870 line of card we placed for testing this specific. With the newly titled CFAA called “Edge Detect,” AMD has outdone itself in qualitative analyzations.

AMD 4800 Series Detailed: Edge Detect

The graph above from our upcoming 4800 detailed reveal shows this new technology in action against the Nvidia line competition for AA sampling and coverage samples. It really outperforms in every game, and is worth noting.


Pages: 1 2 3 4



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Thursday, June 19th, 2008
3:06 AM

35 Comments

35 Comments so far

  1. adurioubmidam June 19th, 2008 3:09 AM

    Epic Review. Thx.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19, 2008 3:20 AM:

    Agree here

  2. antaraa June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Oh shnaps. Better AA and AF. Final Fking ly

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:52 AM:

    I know. I’ve been wanting this for a long time. Had flickering problems.

  3. IBKING91 June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Extremely great review as usual. Silver sounds about right

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:54 AM:

    Yeah. I saw silver and was happy it wasn’t gold. Gold is really for the really really good ones.

  4. ceebz June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Wow, nice

  5. Bdog June 19th, 2008 3:11 AM

    Great exclusive review. Love it

  6. JoshDargie June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM

    Woah a teraFLOP. That’s insane!

    bbflynn replied on June 19, 2008 3:12 AM:

    I know right? I remember it took like a whole room of freaking computers to do that just in the 90′s.

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:25 AM:

    Teraflop is an immense step up. NVIDIA is still way below that. And only at 110W. NICE

  7. bbflynn June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM

    Nice stuff

  8. venkatezh June 19th, 2008 3:13 AM

    AMD isn’t joking around. Cinema 2.0 was a disappointment, but this is right on the money.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Yeah. I’ll count you on that. They really did push through this time. Applause is needed

  9. ZepherX June 19th, 2008 3:13 AM

    Full DX 10.1 support. Count me in. Going to wait for the 4870 review, might buy that

  10. atl_rg June 19th, 2008 3:18 AM

    Seriously impressed. Silver is really damn good.

  11. Lajk192 June 19th, 2008 3:18 AM

    Very impressed here. Might buy this. Waiting on more stuff.

  12. VenomXv June 19th, 2008 3:19 AM

    Wow wow wow wow. Nice. Read an unofficial review elsewhere, but this one I like.

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:55 AM:

    Same here. Was some dude who got it from a site. But it’s out in the best buy I’m at. Going to buy one soon =D

  13. PCTechNerd June 19th, 2008 3:19 AM

    This is definitely better than the 65nm GTX 200 architecture. NVIDIA played it safe this time. Sad

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    This is 55nm according to the review. Smaller is more scalable. Way way better

  14. genieinthebottle June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    BF works at best buy and sneaked one of these out. We currently have it ;) Does what it says

  15. IntelLover June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    NVIDIA lost. End story

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Seriously

  16. Memoryclocker June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    And NVIDIA goes down hard Wham

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:26 AM:

    Yeah definitely

  17. coop81 June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    NVIDIA = owned. Definitely. GDDR5>GDDR3

  18. wiseguy272 June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    Awesome review. Thanks 4 this

  19. Conjuredevil June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    Cool stuff. Got this from Gizmodo AU.

  20. Pancakes June 19th, 2008 3:23 AM

    I like what I see. Better than my friends 8800GTX? He can play crysis high on 1024x. This is all I need.

  21. PCEnthusiast June 19th, 2008 3:23 AM

    As a serious enthusiast like the rest of you, can’t disagree. NVIDIA sucks this time

  22. Vash63 June 19th, 2008 3:24 AM

    Read right now.

    I really knew they would come through to this card.

    Thanks you,

    Vash

  23. Apollodorus June 19th, 2008 3:24 AM

    K.O. NVIDIA

  24. RadianceGraphics June 19th, 2008 3:25 AM

    Yeah. These specs just make me want 4870. Going to buy this though. $199 can’t be beat.

  25. Monolith2001 June 19th, 2008 3:26 AM

    Going to buy this for my MMO experience. Thanks WhatIf