ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review: Show Me The Ruby

Synthetic Benchmarks and Real World Benchmarks

ATI HD 4850 Review Benchmarks

3D MarkVantage (latest) reveals a great deal. The ATI Radeon HD 4850 is going to be the highest performing single slot product to set foot in stores. Not only does the ATI Radeon HD 4850 pass the 8800GT like it was just standing there, but it also out performs the 8800GT’s dual-slot friend, the 8800GTS 512MB, coming close to the GTX benchmark on separate tests we ran.

Next up are the primary benchmarks and everything we are scratching about: games. The table below reveals our primary test subjects for both the ATI Radeon HD 4850, 8800GTS, and GT head-to-head.

Games

Resolutions

AA

AF

Call of Duty 4

2560×1600

4x

8x

Crysis

1600×1200

4x

8x

Half-Life 2: EP2

2560×1600

4x

8x

ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review

With all the games on high settings, the 4850 reaffirmed the fact that it is currently titled the fastest single slot card on the market now, for lesser power usage, full DX 10.1 support, many other features, and moreover a cheaper price that the consumers will eye at. Throughout the test comparisons, we noticed that AA and AF are very much improved when compared to the Nvidia line of cards, and also the former 3870 line of card we placed for testing this specific. With the newly titled CFAA called “Edge Detect,” AMD has outdone itself in qualitative analyzations.

AMD 4800 Series Detailed: Edge Detect

The graph above from our upcoming 4800 detailed reveal shows this new technology in action against the Nvidia line competition for AA sampling and coverage samples. It really outperforms in every game, and is worth noting.

I'm all about one thing: reviews that are easy to understand and make sense of.

35 Comments

  1. Epic Review. Thx.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19th, 2008 3:20 AM:

    Agree here

  2. Oh shnaps. Better AA and AF. Final Fking ly

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:52 AM:

    I know. I’ve been wanting this for a long time. Had flickering problems.

  3. Extremely great review as usual. Silver sounds about right

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:54 AM:

    Yeah. I saw silver and was happy it wasn’t gold. Gold is really for the really really good ones.

  4. Wow, nice

  5. Great exclusive review. Love it

  6. Woah a teraFLOP. That’s insane!

    bbflynn replied on June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM:

    I know right? I remember it took like a whole room of freaking computers to do that just in the 90’s.

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:25 AM:

    Teraflop is an immense step up. NVIDIA is still way below that. And only at 110W. NICE

  7. Nice stuff

  8. AMD isn’t joking around. Cinema 2.0 was a disappointment, but this is right on the money.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Yeah. I’ll count you on that. They really did push through this time. Applause is needed

  9. Full DX 10.1 support. Count me in. Going to wait for the 4870 review, might buy that

  10. Seriously impressed. Silver is really damn good.

  11. Very impressed here. Might buy this. Waiting on more stuff.

  12. Wow wow wow wow. Nice. Read an unofficial review elsewhere, but this one I like.

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:55 AM:

    Same here. Was some dude who got it from a site. But it’s out in the best buy I’m at. Going to buy one soon =D

  13. This is definitely better than the 65nm GTX 200 architecture. NVIDIA played it safe this time. Sad

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    This is 55nm according to the review. Smaller is more scalable. Way way better

  14. BF works at best buy and sneaked one of these out. We currently have it 😉 Does what it says

  15. NVIDIA lost. End story

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Seriously

  16. And NVIDIA goes down hard Wham

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:26 AM:

    Yeah definitely

  17. NVIDIA = owned. Definitely. GDDR5>GDDR3

  18. Awesome review. Thanks 4 this

  19. Cool stuff. Got this from Gizmodo AU.

  20. I like what I see. Better than my friends 8800GTX? He can play crysis high on 1024x. This is all I need.

  21. As a serious enthusiast like the rest of you, can’t disagree. NVIDIA sucks this time

  22. Read right now.

    I really knew they would come through to this card.

    Thanks you,

    Vash

  23. K.O. NVIDIA

  24. Yeah. These specs just make me want 4870. Going to buy this though. $199 can’t be beat.

  25. Going to buy this for my MMO experience. Thanks WhatIf

Comments are now closed for this post.

Lost Password

Sign Up