ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review: Show Me The Ruby

What Do I Do From Here?

ATI Radeon 4800 Chip

The RV770/4800 Series Chip

If you’re a believer in one card wonders, the ATI Radeon HD 4850 is the one to get with 110W power requirement and a nice $199.99 MSRP.

ATI PowerPlay technology fuses great performance through heavy use of an advanced power management technology for optimal performance and power savings

with performance-on-Demand that constantly monitors GPU activity, dynamically adjusting clocks and voltage based on user scenario. The ATI Avivo HD playback works beautifully when tested with our Blu-rays, and there’s absolutely no frame play lag on HDCP content when playing a KungFu Panda demo HDCP trailer we received. Everything is on the fly and makes efficient use of all the 800 stream processors in this card to give it the better value for the price. With great features that define graphics and improved technology, gamers are going to rip the box right off this thing unless they’re getting the HD 4870. In that case, the box will be obliterated.

I'm all about one thing: reviews that are easy to understand and make sense of.

35 Comments

  1. Epic Review. Thx.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19th, 2008 3:20 AM:

    Agree here

  2. Oh shnaps. Better AA and AF. Final Fking ly

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:52 AM:

    I know. I’ve been wanting this for a long time. Had flickering problems.

  3. Extremely great review as usual. Silver sounds about right

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:54 AM:

    Yeah. I saw silver and was happy it wasn’t gold. Gold is really for the really really good ones.

  4. Wow, nice

  5. Great exclusive review. Love it

  6. Woah a teraFLOP. That’s insane!

    bbflynn replied on June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM:

    I know right? I remember it took like a whole room of freaking computers to do that just in the 90’s.

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:25 AM:

    Teraflop is an immense step up. NVIDIA is still way below that. And only at 110W. NICE

  7. Nice stuff

  8. AMD isn’t joking around. Cinema 2.0 was a disappointment, but this is right on the money.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Yeah. I’ll count you on that. They really did push through this time. Applause is needed

  9. Full DX 10.1 support. Count me in. Going to wait for the 4870 review, might buy that

  10. Seriously impressed. Silver is really damn good.

  11. Very impressed here. Might buy this. Waiting on more stuff.

  12. Wow wow wow wow. Nice. Read an unofficial review elsewhere, but this one I like.

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19th, 2008 4:55 AM:

    Same here. Was some dude who got it from a site. But it’s out in the best buy I’m at. Going to buy one soon =D

  13. This is definitely better than the 65nm GTX 200 architecture. NVIDIA played it safe this time. Sad

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    This is 55nm according to the review. Smaller is more scalable. Way way better

  14. BF works at best buy and sneaked one of these out. We currently have it 😉 Does what it says

  15. NVIDIA lost. End story

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Seriously

  16. And NVIDIA goes down hard Wham

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19th, 2008 3:26 AM:

    Yeah definitely

  17. NVIDIA = owned. Definitely. GDDR5>GDDR3

  18. Awesome review. Thanks 4 this

  19. Cool stuff. Got this from Gizmodo AU.

  20. I like what I see. Better than my friends 8800GTX? He can play crysis high on 1024x. This is all I need.

  21. As a serious enthusiast like the rest of you, can’t disagree. NVIDIA sucks this time

  22. Read right now.

    I really knew they would come through to this card.

    Thanks you,

    Vash

  23. K.O. NVIDIA

  24. Yeah. These specs just make me want 4870. Going to buy this though. $199 can’t be beat.

  25. Going to buy this for my MMO experience. Thanks WhatIf

Comments are now closed for this post.

Lost Password

Sign Up