ATI Radeon HD 4850 Review: Show Me The Ruby

What Do I Do From Here?

ATI Radeon 4800 Chip

The RV770/4800 Series Chip

If you’re a believer in one card wonders, the ATI Radeon HD 4850 is the one to get with 110W power requirement and a nice $199.99 MSRP.

ATI PowerPlay technology fuses great performance through heavy use of an advanced power management technology for optimal performance and power savings

with performance-on-Demand that constantly monitors GPU activity, dynamically adjusting clocks and voltage based on user scenario. The ATI Avivo HD playback works beautifully when tested with our Blu-rays, and there’s absolutely no frame play lag on HDCP content when playing a KungFu Panda demo HDCP trailer we received. Everything is on the fly and makes efficient use of all the 800 stream processors in this card to give it the better value for the price. With great features that define graphics and improved technology, gamers are going to rip the box right off this thing unless they’re getting the HD 4870. In that case, the box will be obliterated.


Pages: 1 2 3 4



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Thursday, June 19th, 2008
3:06 AM

35 Comments

35 Comments so far

  1. adurioubmidam June 19th, 2008 3:09 AM

    Epic Review. Thx.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19, 2008 3:20 AM:

    Agree here

  2. antaraa June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Oh shnaps. Better AA and AF. Final Fking ly

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:52 AM:

    I know. I’ve been wanting this for a long time. Had flickering problems.

  3. IBKING91 June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Extremely great review as usual. Silver sounds about right

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:54 AM:

    Yeah. I saw silver and was happy it wasn’t gold. Gold is really for the really really good ones.

  4. ceebz June 19th, 2008 3:10 AM

    Wow, nice

  5. Bdog June 19th, 2008 3:11 AM

    Great exclusive review. Love it

  6. JoshDargie June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM

    Woah a teraFLOP. That’s insane!

    bbflynn replied on June 19, 2008 3:12 AM:

    I know right? I remember it took like a whole room of freaking computers to do that just in the 90′s.

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:25 AM:

    Teraflop is an immense step up. NVIDIA is still way below that. And only at 110W. NICE

  7. bbflynn June 19th, 2008 3:12 AM

    Nice stuff

  8. venkatezh June 19th, 2008 3:13 AM

    AMD isn’t joking around. Cinema 2.0 was a disappointment, but this is right on the money.

    PCTechNerd replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Yeah. I’ll count you on that. They really did push through this time. Applause is needed

  9. ZepherX June 19th, 2008 3:13 AM

    Full DX 10.1 support. Count me in. Going to wait for the 4870 review, might buy that

  10. atl_rg June 19th, 2008 3:18 AM

    Seriously impressed. Silver is really damn good.

  11. Lajk192 June 19th, 2008 3:18 AM

    Very impressed here. Might buy this. Waiting on more stuff.

  12. VenomXv June 19th, 2008 3:19 AM

    Wow wow wow wow. Nice. Read an unofficial review elsewhere, but this one I like.

    wiseguy272 replied on June 19, 2008 4:55 AM:

    Same here. Was some dude who got it from a site. But it’s out in the best buy I’m at. Going to buy one soon =D

  13. PCTechNerd June 19th, 2008 3:19 AM

    This is definitely better than the 65nm GTX 200 architecture. NVIDIA played it safe this time. Sad

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    This is 55nm according to the review. Smaller is more scalable. Way way better

  14. genieinthebottle June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    BF works at best buy and sneaked one of these out. We currently have it ;) Does what it says

  15. IntelLover June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    NVIDIA lost. End story

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:28 AM:

    Seriously

  16. Memoryclocker June 19th, 2008 3:21 AM

    And NVIDIA goes down hard Wham

    Monolith2001 replied on June 19, 2008 3:26 AM:

    Yeah definitely

  17. coop81 June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    NVIDIA = owned. Definitely. GDDR5>GDDR3

  18. wiseguy272 June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    Awesome review. Thanks 4 this

  19. Conjuredevil June 19th, 2008 3:22 AM

    Cool stuff. Got this from Gizmodo AU.

  20. Pancakes June 19th, 2008 3:23 AM

    I like what I see. Better than my friends 8800GTX? He can play crysis high on 1024x. This is all I need.

  21. PCEnthusiast June 19th, 2008 3:23 AM

    As a serious enthusiast like the rest of you, can’t disagree. NVIDIA sucks this time

  22. Vash63 June 19th, 2008 3:24 AM

    Read right now.

    I really knew they would come through to this card.

    Thanks you,

    Vash

  23. Apollodorus June 19th, 2008 3:24 AM

    K.O. NVIDIA

  24. RadianceGraphics June 19th, 2008 3:25 AM

    Yeah. These specs just make me want 4870. Going to buy this though. $199 can’t be beat.

  25. Monolith2001 June 19th, 2008 3:26 AM

    Going to buy this for my MMO experience. Thanks WhatIf