ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Vroom Vroom Crossfire

Heat

We don’t need a chart here. Overall, heat was controlled throughout testing and even through the most strenuous test we could put it through the temperatures never rose above 80°C thanks to the active cooling on the board.

Test It Special As Always

Now, we decided to add a little flare into this one like some of our others with its own section. AMD is always saying they wanted more performance per area, and per watt. But what does that mean and does it perform or is it all marketing mumbo jumbo? WhatIfGaming knows and will help you all out there.

First off we take a look at performance (amount of GFLOPS) per area. Performance per area is about the same as performance per dollar. The measure of the amount of GFLOPS utilized per area (cm^2) with determines the overall efficiency with which fps is attainable.

ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review

The simple table shows that the performance per GFLOPs is tremendous when it comes to the ATI Radeon HD 4870 and as such the performance per watt is also efficient since they are all fueling these GFLOPs settings.

Next, we look at power efficiency. Watts are a form of energy that is used to give power to functioning microtransmitters. When you design the next best chip, you have to look at not only performance per dollar, but how much it costs to have smaller power consumption per frame render.

ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review

Looking above shows clearly that for the two most demanding games this generation in DX 10, the AMD ATI Radeon 4870 exceptionally qualifies as efficient and productive. Something which was humbly left out from the box mentions we looked at earlier, especially given the increased AA we already covered in our 4800 series detail.


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Thursday, June 26th, 2008
9:02 PM

31 Comments

31 Comments so far

  1. Monolith2001 June 26th, 2008 9:10 PM

    This review is heavenly

  2. PCEnthusiast June 26th, 2008 9:11 PM

    I think transcends heavenly are the right words ; )

    Pancakes replied on June 26, 2008 9:26 PM:

    Hahah. No doubt about that one. Read dBA emissions. That’s crazy they actually put it in WATER to measure that.

  3. RadianceGraphics June 26th, 2008 9:11 PM

    Given this review, I have decided to finally buy one of these.

  4. IntelLover June 26th, 2008 9:12 PM

    TY so much on this review. The special sections I always love.

  5. Memoryclocker June 26th, 2008 9:12 PM

    Golden. Oh wow. Must have now

  6. coop81 June 26th, 2008 9:13 PM

    *holds sign* Will be a slave for two of these.

  7. genieinthebottle June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    Boyfriend already has both of these. We wanted a 4850, but got 1 of those for the other PC (mine) and his WILL have these now thanks to u. Thanks :) <3

  8. antaraa June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    OK. I’m convinced =-D

  9. PCTechNerd June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    12 pages of pure quality over quantity of writing. Something all other writers severely fail at. Thank you WiG

    IBKING91 replied on June 26, 2008 9:25 PM:

    Agreed. Totally noticed that here too

  10. Apollodorus June 26th, 2008 9:15 PM

    TY. Beautiful review

  11. wiseguy272 June 26th, 2008 9:15 PM

    Thanks man. Will get end of this month.

  12. Conjuredevil June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    TY very much

  13. Pancakes June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    Godllyy. Ty.

  14. FreedomPhantom June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    Bought it on newegg woot.

  15. Vash63 June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    Makes me want to cry. I can’t buy this for a while.

  16. VenomXv June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    I have a tech lover now.

  17. bbflynn June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    Thanks man. This is amazing

  18. ZepherX June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    I bought two and soooooooo anxious!!

  19. venkatezh June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    Will buy now later tonight. 2 of them. I could really use it for transcoding.

  20. Bdog June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    Love it so much. Thanks

  21. JoshDargie June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Definitely buying this over the overpriced POS Nvidia cards

  22. ceebz June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Will buy now cause of this. For sure

    IBKING91 replied on June 26, 2008 9:25 PM:

    definitely. always wait on the review from here

    Pancakes replied on June 26, 2008 9:26 PM:

    Many respects here.

  23. afirmitive June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Vroom = no joke.

  24. atl_rg June 26th, 2008 9:23 PM

    Nice.

  25. Lajk192 June 26th, 2008 9:23 PM

    Bought 2 here. Will come in 3 days. Just in time

  26. IBKING91 June 26th, 2008 9:24 PM

    OH SWEET. THANKS been waiting on this

  27. Usman Ihtsham June 28th, 2008 3:04 AM

    Guys, make sure to get the hotfix on this one!