ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Vroom Vroom Crossfire

How Many Pixels Do You Bench?

Through methodical and strenuous tests, we take real-world applications to the fullest by doing more than just 1 test (4) per benchmark at different resolutions and settings. It’s a long road to our GPU home.

Crysis

AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Crysis Benchmark

AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Crysis Benchmark

AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Crysis Benchmark

From the graphs, these two hardcore brother cards take the fight to Crysis. No longer does Crysis pose a threat to the PCI-E 2.0x slots. The energy is just roaring when compared to the competition that clocks at a lower peak by 3 fps. The interesting part is that the fps actually increased overall by ~2.3 fps constantly with our 2560×1600 tests. This is definitely due to the reason that the Radeon 4870 drivers are more configured for this resolution set. The ATI Radeon 4870 really stars pushing the bar in terms of performance here.


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Thursday, June 26th, 2008
9:02 PM

31 Comments

31 Comments so far

  1. Monolith2001 June 26th, 2008 9:10 PM

    This review is heavenly

  2. PCEnthusiast June 26th, 2008 9:11 PM

    I think transcends heavenly are the right words ; )

    Pancakes replied on June 26, 2008 9:26 PM:

    Hahah. No doubt about that one. Read dBA emissions. That’s crazy they actually put it in WATER to measure that.

  3. RadianceGraphics June 26th, 2008 9:11 PM

    Given this review, I have decided to finally buy one of these.

  4. IntelLover June 26th, 2008 9:12 PM

    TY so much on this review. The special sections I always love.

  5. Memoryclocker June 26th, 2008 9:12 PM

    Golden. Oh wow. Must have now

  6. coop81 June 26th, 2008 9:13 PM

    *holds sign* Will be a slave for two of these.

  7. genieinthebottle June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    Boyfriend already has both of these. We wanted a 4850, but got 1 of those for the other PC (mine) and his WILL have these now thanks to u. Thanks :) <3

  8. antaraa June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    OK. I’m convinced =-D

  9. PCTechNerd June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    12 pages of pure quality over quantity of writing. Something all other writers severely fail at. Thank you WiG

    IBKING91 replied on June 26, 2008 9:25 PM:

    Agreed. Totally noticed that here too

  10. Apollodorus June 26th, 2008 9:15 PM

    TY. Beautiful review

  11. wiseguy272 June 26th, 2008 9:15 PM

    Thanks man. Will get end of this month.

  12. Conjuredevil June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    TY very much

  13. Pancakes June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    Godllyy. Ty.

  14. FreedomPhantom June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    Bought it on newegg woot.

  15. Vash63 June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    Makes me want to cry. I can’t buy this for a while.

  16. VenomXv June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    I have a tech lover now.

  17. bbflynn June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    Thanks man. This is amazing

  18. ZepherX June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    I bought two and soooooooo anxious!!

  19. venkatezh June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    Will buy now later tonight. 2 of them. I could really use it for transcoding.

  20. Bdog June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    Love it so much. Thanks

  21. JoshDargie June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Definitely buying this over the overpriced POS Nvidia cards

  22. ceebz June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Will buy now cause of this. For sure

    IBKING91 replied on June 26, 2008 9:25 PM:

    definitely. always wait on the review from here

    Pancakes replied on June 26, 2008 9:26 PM:

    Many respects here.

  23. afirmitive June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Vroom = no joke.

  24. atl_rg June 26th, 2008 9:23 PM

    Nice.

  25. Lajk192 June 26th, 2008 9:23 PM

    Bought 2 here. Will come in 3 days. Just in time

  26. IBKING91 June 26th, 2008 9:24 PM

    OH SWEET. THANKS been waiting on this

  27. Usman Ihtsham June 28th, 2008 3:04 AM

    Guys, make sure to get the hotfix on this one!