ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Vroom Vroom Crossfire

Power Consumption

For this test we hooked used a similar method to our power supply testing and then measured the consumption of the whole system every second. Maximum consumption placed strenuous strain on the PCI-E slots only thanks to a custom script, and allowed us to measure the differentials.

AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 Review: Power Consumption

Power consumption sticks almost near to the specs on the box, while the load consumption slightly goes a bit over, but still fairly less in comparison to SLI power consumptions and given the higher clock and more utilization of stream processors, the ATI Radeon HD 4870 is commendable when it comes to this.


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12



Posted By: Usman Ihtsham
ON Thursday, June 26th, 2008
9:02 PM

31 Comments

31 Comments so far

  1. Monolith2001 June 26th, 2008 9:10 PM

    This review is heavenly

  2. PCEnthusiast June 26th, 2008 9:11 PM

    I think transcends heavenly are the right words ; )

    Pancakes replied on June 26, 2008 9:26 PM:

    Hahah. No doubt about that one. Read dBA emissions. That’s crazy they actually put it in WATER to measure that.

  3. RadianceGraphics June 26th, 2008 9:11 PM

    Given this review, I have decided to finally buy one of these.

  4. IntelLover June 26th, 2008 9:12 PM

    TY so much on this review. The special sections I always love.

  5. Memoryclocker June 26th, 2008 9:12 PM

    Golden. Oh wow. Must have now

  6. coop81 June 26th, 2008 9:13 PM

    *holds sign* Will be a slave for two of these.

  7. genieinthebottle June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    Boyfriend already has both of these. We wanted a 4850, but got 1 of those for the other PC (mine) and his WILL have these now thanks to u. Thanks :) <3

  8. antaraa June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    OK. I’m convinced =-D

  9. PCTechNerd June 26th, 2008 9:14 PM

    12 pages of pure quality over quantity of writing. Something all other writers severely fail at. Thank you WiG

    IBKING91 replied on June 26, 2008 9:25 PM:

    Agreed. Totally noticed that here too

  10. Apollodorus June 26th, 2008 9:15 PM

    TY. Beautiful review

  11. wiseguy272 June 26th, 2008 9:15 PM

    Thanks man. Will get end of this month.

  12. Conjuredevil June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    TY very much

  13. Pancakes June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    Godllyy. Ty.

  14. FreedomPhantom June 26th, 2008 9:19 PM

    Bought it on newegg woot.

  15. Vash63 June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    Makes me want to cry. I can’t buy this for a while.

  16. VenomXv June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    I have a tech lover now.

  17. bbflynn June 26th, 2008 9:20 PM

    Thanks man. This is amazing

  18. ZepherX June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    I bought two and soooooooo anxious!!

  19. venkatezh June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    Will buy now later tonight. 2 of them. I could really use it for transcoding.

  20. Bdog June 26th, 2008 9:21 PM

    Love it so much. Thanks

  21. JoshDargie June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Definitely buying this over the overpriced POS Nvidia cards

  22. ceebz June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Will buy now cause of this. For sure

    IBKING91 replied on June 26, 2008 9:25 PM:

    definitely. always wait on the review from here

    Pancakes replied on June 26, 2008 9:26 PM:

    Many respects here.

  23. afirmitive June 26th, 2008 9:22 PM

    Vroom = no joke.

  24. atl_rg June 26th, 2008 9:23 PM

    Nice.

  25. Lajk192 June 26th, 2008 9:23 PM

    Bought 2 here. Will come in 3 days. Just in time

  26. IBKING91 June 26th, 2008 9:24 PM

    OH SWEET. THANKS been waiting on this

  27. Usman Ihtsham June 28th, 2008 3:04 AM

    Guys, make sure to get the hotfix on this one!