Candescent Armor Destiny 2 Explained

Eoin Black
Eoin Black
4 Min Read
Screenshot by WhatIf Gaming

The Candescent armor is Destiny 2’s newest armor set. It came to us with Solstice 2022 and radically changed the way the event works compared to years prior.

Bungie never makes things easy for us, though. The Candescent armor system is overly complicated, involving three different currencies, four tiers of upgrades, a unique activity, and a whole bunch of farming.

I’m going to break it all down for you as simply as possible. I’ll go over what each of the event’s currencies does, how to reroll your Candescent armor, how to upgrade it, and more.

So, if you’re confused by the Candescent Armor system being used in Destiny 2’s Solstice 2022, I’ve got your back.

Destiny 2 How Does Candescent Destiny 2 Armor Work?

Destiny 2 Candescent armor explained - Helmet.
Screenshot by WhatIf Gaming

When you first speak to Eva Levante in the Tower during Solstice 2022, you’ll be given a package with a full set of Candescent armor. Your main source of more Candescent armor will be as drops from the Bonfire Bash activity.

Each main slot of Candescent armor (head, arms, torso, legs,) has three tiers. At tier three, the armor will receive its glow. These tiers are universal across all Candescent armor in that slot. So, if you upgrade your helmet to tier three, every other helmet that drops will also be tier three. To upgrade your Candescent armor, you use Kindling. It takes six Kindling altogether to get your armor to tier three.

Each tier you upgrade unlocks an additional reroll on that piece of armor.

  • Tier 0 Candescent armor cannot be rerolled.
  • Tier one armor can be rerolled once.
  • Tier two armor can be rerolled twice,
  • Tier three armor can be rerolled three times, with the third allowing you to focus on one specific stat.

Once you get an armor slot to tier three, you’ll be able to reroll every additional armor drop in that slot twice regularly and once with a focus.

However, once you perform all three rerolls on one piece of armor, you cannot reroll it anymore. You’ll need to get another piece of armor to continue rolling for stats. For example, if you reroll a helmet three times, you’ll need to get another helmet. No one piece of armor can be rerolled more than three times.

How to Reroll Candescent Armor Destiny 2

Shining Embers upgrade
Screenshot by WhatIf Gaming

To reroll a piece of armor, you use Silver Ash. Silver Ash is the event currency of Solstice 2022 that you get from burning Silver Leaves in Bonfire Bash.

However, you upgrade your armor tiers using Kindling. Kindling is limited in supply, unlike Silver Leaves, and can only be gotten by completing the specific challenges in your Event Card. Completing these challenges and getting all of your Candescent armor Destiny 2 slots to tier three should be a priority.

That’s pretty much it. You upgrade each piece of armor three times with Kindling, and you only have to do that once. Then you can reroll each individual piece of armor three times using Silver Ash. It’s that simple (although the game doesn’t make it feel that way).

Solstice 2022 won’t last forever. It’s possibly the best event in Destiny history for farming god-roll armor, so make a point of grinding it out as much as you can.

Share This Article
Eoin has been playing video games his entire life. He specializes in narrative-driven, single-player titles, and brings his extensive Esports experience into his writing.
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.