All CS:GO Ranks: Ranking System Explained (2023)

Don't be ashamed of your rank. We all have to start somewhere.

Anwell Patdu
Anwell Patdu - CS2 & Valorant Expert
8 Min Read

Climbing the CS:GO ranks is one of the most fulfilling things in the game. Since the release of the ranking system, the game has always had 18 different ranks.

Admittedly, the ranking system isn’t perfect, and it definitely has its flaws. Have you ever wondered what all the ranks are and how the game determines your skill level?

So today, let’s talk about all the ranks and explain how the ranking system works.

The CS:GO Ranking System

A photo of the basics of CSGO ranking system.

Any online game with a competitive ranking system follows the same structure. You get matched with players with a similar skill level, then your rank will be adjusted depending on how well you perform within those games. Even the ranking system of Valorant and Overwatch follow this same model.

As we’ve previously mentioned, there are a total of 18 different ranks in CS:GO. When you’re new to the game, you are given a series of placement games that will be used to determine your skill level and your starting rank. You’re assigned a hidden matchmaking rating (MMR).

Your MMR is almost synonymous with your skill level relative to the other players in CS:GO. From here, the game matches you with other players within your same skill level and sees how you perform in those games. Your MMR adjusts accordingly to your level of play.

How to Get Promoted in CS:GO

How to get promoted in CSGO.

Of course, you aren’t going to stay in your starting rank forever. As you play the game more, you can either get promoted to the next rank or get demoted to a lower rank. How you move will be determined by your MMR. The rule of thumb is the higher your MMR, the better you are at CS:GO, and the higher your rank will be.

Unfortunately, the specifics of MMR aren’t available to the public. However, there are a few known factors that can affect your MMR:

  • The number of rounds you’ve won in a game
  • Your KDA (kill, death, and assist) – The higher, the better
  • The number of round MVPs you’ve received
  • The average rank within your games

These are all factors that can affect your MMR, both in positive and negative ways. However, these factors aren’t as important as the outcome of your game. At the end of the day, It still comes down to your wins and losses.

If you win a ranked game, you gain MMR. If you lose a game, you lose MMR. So if you want to get promoted, you’ll need to go on a win streak and perform well in those games. All of the factors mentioned above can only help you gain more MMR in wins or lose more MMR in losses.

Once you reach certain MMR thresholds, you’ll be promoted or demoted to the respective ranks. CS:GO doesn’t directly tell you when you’ll rank up (or down), but winning consecutive games will definitely up your chances. You can expect rank-ups when winning around 3-5 straight games and expect to rank down for a few consecutive losses.

All CS:GO Ranks

A photo of all the CSGO ranks and their names.

Now that you know the basics of the CS:GO ranking system, it’s time to talk about the individual ranks. There are a total of 18 ranks in CS:GO. Everyone who has completed their 10 placements wins will be placed somewhere within these ranks. Their assigned rank will depend on how well they perform in these games and how fast it takes them to get 10 wins.

Here is a complete list of all the ranks in CS:GO:

CS:GO RanksAbbreviation
Silver IS1
Silver IIS2
Silver IIIS3
Silver IVS4
Silver EliteSE
Silver Elite MasterSEM
Gold Nova IGN1
Gold Nova IIGN2
Gold Nova IIIGN3
Gold Nova MasterGNM
Master Guardian IMG1
Master Guardian IIMG2
Master Guardian EliteMGE
Distinguished Master GuardianDMG
Legendary EagleLE
Legendary Eagle MasterLEM
Supreme Master First ClassSMFC
Global EliteGE

We can then further divide these 18 ranks into three different groups/ tiers to get a good assumption of their skill level.

The different groups are:

  • The Beginners – Silver I to Silver Elite Master
  • The Average Players – Gold Nova I to Master Guardian Elite
  • The Best of the Best – Distinguished Master Guardian to Global Elite

Note: These aren’t actual divisions made by CS:GO. We’ve just created these tiers to narrow down the skill level of each rank.

The Beginners

Players whose ranks fall between Silver I to Silver Elite Master are typically newcomers to the game. They are still learning the ropes of CS:GO and are starting to find out how scoring works, how to manage the economy, and are still perfecting their aim.

This can also include more casual players who may not have enough time to grind in CS:GO but are still looking for a competitive environment.

The Average Players

Most players who play competitively will usually fall somewhere between Gold I and Master Guardian Elite. This group of players already have a pretty good sense of how to play the game, how to work with their team, and have a decent aim.

They also know some grenade lineups and smoke spots that help them win more games. Their mechanics are already pretty solid, and probably have over 1000 hours played on CS:GO. They aren’t the best yet, but they’re slowly getting there.

The Best of the Best

The final group consists of the most talented players in the world who are serious about playing CS:GO. This usually includes professional players, streamers, and players who spend a lot of time playing the game.

If you fall somewhere between Distinguished Master Guardian and Global Elite, then congratulations! You belong to a pretty elite group that knows how the game works to a tee. They have an elite aim, exceptional mechanics, and insane teamplay ability.


The CS:GO ranking system is one of those weird things that are very complicated yet simple at the same time. It’s quite easy to understand how it works, but the things behind the scenes are really complex.

Hopefully, we were able to explain it in a simple way that can help you better understand how the game works.

Share This Article
By Anwell Patdu CS2 & Valorant Expert
Hey, awesome game enthusiasts! I'm Anwell, diving into the gaming world from the days of the Game Boy Advance SP with Pokémon FireRed, evolving into a pro strategist in the intense showdowns of Valorant and CS2. It's a thrill ride I never want to get off! But hey, I'm not all about the competitive scene. Sometimes I'm kickin' back with the latest indie farming sims, where my farm designs—though not award-winners—bring a quirky kind of peace. As for the tech side, yeah, I've put together a PC or two, and it's a blast. But let’s park that for now; we're all about the gaming vibes here! All this joystick joy turned me into a wordsmith in the gaming universe, with a sea of articles to my credit. And the journey, with you all by my side, just keeps leveling up. So, stay tuned, stay connected, and let’s keep this game-night rolling! Ready for more action and less talk? Onward to our next virtual adventure!
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.